Sharing Hope

unnamed

I am excited to be part of the Hope for the Weary Mom Blog Tour with Brooke McGlothlin and Stacey Thacker. You can find out more and join the tour by clicking here.

I  was approved to read this book through NetGalley and then soon after signed up to be on the launch team as well. Even though it is one of 5 teams I’m currently working on (see previous post), I am convinced it was worth my time. I really believe in the message of this book and I love the writing style and the hearts of the authors.

If you’ve followed my blog in the past I wouldn’t doubt that you’ve heard my opinion on advice from mom’s who “have it all together.” If not, let me enlighten you 🙂 I’ve had some women who have told me “Well I just did this and this and it worked and they were so well behaved”… la, la, la, la, la. I’m sorry, forgive me if I sound cynical. I’m glad that worked for them and we can certainly learn from what works sometimes. But, I need to know I’m not alone. I need to be reminded that other moms are struggling, that I’m not the only one who wants to pull her hair out sometimes. Thank you, thank you, thank you Brooke and Stacey for showing that transparency in this book!

There are so many things we can learn from each other. Just today I read two great blogs about mothering, one by a friend (Beth’s Blog) and the other (Featured on Time Warp Wife) was actually by one of the authors of Hope for the Weary Mom, Brooke. Both had so much to say, so much that encouraged me as a mother and reminded me of things I thought I knew. But, isn’t that where some of the weariness comes from. We get so emerged in the day’s happenings… taking my daughter to go potty, again, 10 minutes after she just said she was done, for what feels like the umpteenth time today… the screaming over who did what, or, “she took my toy,” or “she hit me”… then add regular daily tasks like dishes, laundry, everyday clutter… add appointments, for us homeschooling, my extra commitments… and it can feel so overwhelming. And we forget. We forget that there are words of inspiration out there, we forget that God has a purpose in this season of life and in the next. We forget that we’re not alone. This book reminded me of that.

Please, moms, read this book. Even if you don’t feel like the weary mom. Maybe you think you’ve got it all together or maybe you do well to remember all the truths that I too easily forget sometimes. But, I can almost guarantee that you know a mom who is weary. She might not show it, but she needs your compassion and your friendship. And please, share some mistakes (we all have some of them, even if you don’t have as many as me 🙂 ), and let her know she’s not alone.

Hope for the Weary Mom is a book about letting God meet you in the messy places of motherhood and finding true hope. You can find out more information here!

intersection-472

About Stacey and Brooke:

Stacey_2673_sRGB_to-sizeStacey Thacker is a wife and the mother of four vibrant girls. She is a writer and speaker who loves God’s Word. Her passion is to connect with women and encourage them in their walks with God. You can find her blogging at staceythacker.com and hanging out on Twitter  or Instagram @staceythacker.

BLM-Headshot

Brooke McGlothlin is cofounder of Raising Boys Ministries, where moms and dads come to discover delight in the chaos of raising boys. You can find her writing about fighting for the hearts of her sons at the Mothers of Boys Society blog or living a life in pursuit of messy grace at her personal blog, www.brookemcglothlin.com. A normal day finds Brooke homeschooling her two boys and falling more and more in love with the man she’s had a crush on since the third grade (who just happens to be her husband).

One thought on “Sharing Hope

Leave a Reply

