My Crazy Wonderful Hardest Best Job

I love being a mom. Somehow, though, I always thought it would be easier. I guess I conveniently didn’t think too far. I’ve been a babysitter and nanny for a large portion of my life when I was single. I’ve seen some definite “almost enough to scare you away” cases of childhood drama. But… when I had children… that would be different (yes I thought I had all the answers back then -show of hands from those who know what I’m saying). God has a good sense of humor and a definite way of humbling us. So even with my experience (and no I’m not saying I was Super-Nanny by any means, though I could write my own Nanny Diary of my experiences in the interviewing process alone) and with many wonderful examples of mothers growing up, mine included, motherhood has definitely thrown me my own share of curve balls.

These days I find myself searching God’s Word and reading many helpful parenting resources seeking to get a better idea of the mom I want to be and of how I can give these two darlings (now two and four-I affectionately call them the goober twins) the best of what I have without loosing my ever-loving mind and without messing them up. I can’t even imagine doing this without knowing that God is in control. If you’ve been a mother for any amount of time I’m sure you can relate. If motherhood is on it’s way to visit you or you hope it one day will, start preparing.
But how do we prepare, how do we work though our current seasons of being a mommy. One very awesome book that I’ve been so privileged to help launch is The Making of a Mom by Stephani Shott. She has so much advice and encouragement to offer but she also is leading a mission of mentoring moms.

IMG_0650

There is so much I could take from this book and share. I really don’t even know where I would start. I so encourage you, whatever view you are seeing the road of mommy-hood from to pick up this book. Catch a vision for the mom you want to be, find help for the drama you feel like you’re moving through with your children right now, or if you think you’re past all that… gain some wisdom in learning how to help the rest of us. We need you, mom who has been there, done that and has the t-shirt complete with matching stains.

I could say more but Stephanie really says it so much better. Stephani, thank you for your words, for your heart and for your passion to follow God in helping moms be better together.

Stephanie Shott is crazy in love with Jesus and believes Him for the impossible. Through The M.O.M. Initiative, Stephanie is changing the world one mom at a time and she wants YOU to join her! Her heart resonates with William Carey’s quote, “Expect great things from God. Attempt great things for God.” To invite Stephanie to speak at your next event, visit her website at http://www.stephanieshott.com. To find out more about The M.O.M. Initiative or to begin a M.O.M. Mentor Group, visit http://www.themominitiative.com.

The-Making-of-a-MomChapter-Sample

Purchase Links

Amazon (http://www.amazon.com/The-Making-Mom-Practical-Purposeful/dp/0830770577/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1400208636&sr=8-1&keywords=The+Making+of+a+Mom)

Barnes and Noble (http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/making-of-a-mom-the-stephanie-shott/1119619618?ean=9780800726362)

ChristianBook.com (http://www.christianbook.com/the-making-of-a-mom/stephanie-shott/9780830770571/pd/770571)

2 thoughts on “My Crazy Wonderful Hardest Best Job

  1. Thank you SO MUCH for helping me launch The Making of a Mom! What a blessing you are, Sarah! And I’m so glad the Lord used it to minister to your heart in your mom journey! So… maybe heading up a M.O.M. Group is next! 😉 I’d LOVE to see you head up a M.O.M. Group! You’d be amazing!

Leave a Reply

